Sunday, June 08, 2014

(Video) Dwight King's controversial goal - Game Two


I listened to this game on my XM Radio and I wanted to see video of the goal in question before I commented on it. I think Henrik Lundqvist has a valid complaint here. From my perspective, it looks like L.A. Kings forward Dwight King uses the contact with Ryan McDonagh to interfere with Lundqvist. I think that this should have been called goalie interference in my opinion. This is a hard call to make, but this also makes a good point that the NHL needs to have video review on goalie interference.


Chris Johnston, Sports Net -- Henrik Lundqvist had a legitimate beef coming out of Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final after seeing Dwight King score a momentum-seizing goal for the Los Angeles Kings while leaning into him. The Kings forward was battling for position with Ryan McDonagh at the top of the goaltender’s crease and kept Lundqvist from being able to make a proper move towards a Matt Greene point shot.

The puck ended up hitting King and going in, bringing Los Angeles back to 4-3 and propelling them to yet another two-goal comeback.

The explanation referee Dan O’Halloran provided to Lundqvist on the ice was that the contact was made with him after the puck had already gone in the goal. Replays showed differently.
Here's the NHL's Rule 69.1, you can see that video review is not permitted to review goalie interference. This is a rule that I think the NHL needs to change.
69.1 Interference on the Goalkeeper - This rule is based on the premise that an attacking player’s position, whether inside or outside the crease, should not, by itself, determine whether a goal should be allowed or disallowed. In other words, goals scored while attacking players are standing in the crease may, in appropriate circumstances be allowed. Goals should be disallowed only if: (1) an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal; or (2) an attacking player initiates intentional or deliberate contact with a goalkeeper, inside or outside of his goal crease. Incidental contact with a goalkeeper will be permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside of the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact. The rule will be enforced exclusively in accordance with the on-ice judgment of the Referee(s), and not by means of video replay or review.
Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Post a Comment

We welcome thoughtful responses from our readers. Personal attacks against the readers and authors will not be tolerated. If you're here to troll, don't do it.