I think that the on-ice officials made the right call in this situation. I think Patrice Bergeron's stick was below the cross bar when the puck touched his stick. Nonetheless, this was a hard all to make and I am glad that I am not the official that had to make this call tonight. As you can see in another blog post, the refs blew the call earlier in the night on Craig McAdam's no-goal.
...and there you go. Ruling conclusive that puck hit the stick below the crossbar. #Bruins win in OT vs. #Pens
— Scouting The Refs (@ScoutingTheRefs) January 8, 2015
In 100% honesty, they got it right. Bergeron's stick was moving downward, and was at, or below the cross bar when the puck was deflected.
— Andy Dudones (@ADudones) January 8, 2015