Today, it was announced that Gudas will not face a hearing for this hit. Obviously, not every hit si going to result in a hearing or a suspension.
Looking at the hit, it appears to be a violation of the NHl's rule 48. Thoughts?
48.1 Illegal Check to the Head – A hit resulting in contact with an opponent's head where the head is targeted and the principal point of contact is not permitted. However, in determining whether such a hit should have been permitted, the circumstances of the hit, including whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or simultaneously with the hit or the head contact on an otherwise legal body check was avoidable, can be considered.