Sunday, April 20, 2014

(Video) Ryan Callahan No Goal Call vs Montreal Canadiens



I don't see any reason why this goal doesn't count, but I guess we need to take a look at NHL Rule 69.3.
69.1 Interference on the Goalkeeper - This rule is based on the premise that an attacking player’s position, whether inside or outside the crease, should not, by itself, determine whether a goal should be allowed or disallowed. In other words, goals scored while attacking players are standing in the crease may, in appropriate circumstances be allowed. Goals should be disallowed only if: (1) an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal; or (2) an attacking player initiates intentional or deliberate contact with a goalkeeper, inside or outside of his goal crease. Incidental contact with a goalkeeper will be permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside of the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact. The rule will be enforced exclusively in accordance with the on-ice judgment of the Referee(s), and not by means of video replay or review.



Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Post a Comment

We welcome thoughtful responses from our readers. Personal attacks against the readers and authors will not be tolerated. If you're here to troll, don't do it.