Wednesday, March 12, 2014

(Video) Sharks and Leafs blown Call - Tommy Wingels No Goal



Last night, San Jose Sharks forward Tommy Wingels fell victim to the infamous intent to blow the whistle by the referee call. In my opinion, this is a horrible call. Looks like it should have been a goal.
Situation Room Blog --- At 9:37 of the first period in the Toronto Maple Leafs/San Jose Sharks game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Toronto net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he was in the process of blowing his whistle to stop play while the puck was under James Reimer's body in the crease. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal San Jose.
Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Post a Comment

We welcome thoughtful responses from our readers. Personal attacks against the readers and authors will not be tolerated. If you're here to troll, don't do it.