Still shot of Dustin Brown's elbow that injured Jason Pominville #mnwild #lakings twitter.com/Russostrib/sta…s/t to Michael Russo... In case anyone is confused, this was a text book hit to the head and a violation of rule 48. Jason Pominville's head is targeted by Dustin Brown.
— Michael Russo (@Russostrib) April 24, 2013
48.1 Illegal Check to the Head – A hit resulting in contact with an opponent's head where the head is targeted and the principal point of contact is not permitted. However, in determining whether such a hit should have been permitted, the circumstances of the hit, including whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or simultaneously with the hit or the head contact on an otherwise legal body check was avoidable, can be considered.