Sunday, January 27, 2013

Brad Stuart rocks Gabriel Landeskog

This was the hit that everyone was talking about yesterday. The Sharks defenseman Brad Stuart absolutely destorys the Av's forward Gabriel Landeskog with what appears to be a legal hit. I don't think it's a violation of rule 48. Or is it?

Rule 48 - Illegal Check to the Head

48.1 Illegal Check to the Head – A hit resulting in contact with an opponent's head where the head is targeted and the principal point of contact is not permitted. However, in determining whether such a hit should have been permitted, the circumstances of the hit, including whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or simultaneously with the hit or the head contact on an otherwise legal body check was avoidable, can be considered.
Enhanced by Zemanta